This is not Valentine

A bit different this time. I would like to add a poem along with my illustration. Happy Valentine to each and every single one of you. Love and peace for every single day in our lives. 🙂

 

“This is not Valentine”

 

As you leave your day behind

And softly buried in dark of night

Please pray for an honest dream, my love

For it is the only thing we have

 

As you close your eyes

After the whisper of the wind

Please pray for an honest dream, my love

For it is the only wish we need

 

Because this is not Valentine, my love

This is not the day we celebrate us

You’ve known my name since life before

And I’ve heard yours ever since I was born

 

I know you watched me as I asleep

You know I’m with you as years faded

And yet this is not Valentine, my love

This is not Valentine for you and I

 

We are not husband and wife

And we might never will be

For we cannot as we could not

But forever it shall be we live a heart

 

So let us breathe these drops on our cheeks

Like twin-toddlers grow older and leave

Far far away to the land they belong

Further and further apart they go

 

This is not Valentine, my love

It is not a celebration for you and I

I have no rose nor candle not even a kiss

I only have me with not a shadow to see

 

DorotheaIllustration

 

*to the man who treated me right with his line “She is the woman I love – to whom I have my respect” once said in pride. I am grateful he proved the words.

This is why I love you.

Leave a Reply

